Our Expertise   ›   Practice Areas   ›   Securities and Corporate Finance

Farris LLP: Vancouver's Law Firm

Securities and Corporate Finance

Farris has experienced securities litigators working in conjunction with leading edge solicitors in mergers and acquisitions and other securities practice areas.

Farris litigators Robert Anderson Q.C. and Teresa Tomchak acted for MacDonald, Detwiller and Associates Ltd. in the first class action in Canada to deny leave under the secondary market provisions of the Securities Act, in Round v. MacDonald, Dettwiler and Associates Ltd. 2011 BCSC 1416.
 
Farris litigators, including Robert Anderson, Q.C., Teresa Tomchak, and Ludmila Herbst, have acted in numerous takeover bids and proxy battles for companies incorporated under British Columbia, Yukon, and federal law, before both the courts and the British Columbia Securities Commission. Farris cases have included obtaining orders to cease trading poison pills in the $800 million hostile take-over bid by entities controlled by Carl Icahn and the successful appeal of the same in Icahn Partners LP v. Lions Gate Entertainment Corp. 2010 BCSECCOM432; 2010 BCCA 231; 2010 BCSECCOM 629, obtaining an injunction against an attempted takeover bid in Aurizon Mines Ltd. v. Northgate Minerals Corp. (2006), 57 B.C.L.R. (4th) 137, 2006 BCSC 1022, affirmed (2006), 55 B.C.L.R. (4th) 203, 2006 BCCA 340; and defeating an application to postpone a shareholders’ meeting regarding a proposed merger arrangement in Proprietary Industries Inc. v. eDispatch.com Wireless Data Inc. (2001), 30 B.C.L.R. (3d) 87, 2001 BCSC 1850.
 
Farris litigators, including Scott Dawson, Teresa Tomchak, Ludmila Herbst, Rebecca Morse, and Dylana Bloor, have obtained court approval for numerous corporate arrangements including the acquisition of CHC Helicopter Corporation (CHC) by First Reserve Corporation in an all-cash transaction that valued CHC at an adjusted enterprise value of $3.7 billion; the acquisition of Aspreva Pharmaceuticals Corporation by Galenica Group in a transaction with a total value of approximately US $915 million; the acquisition of Radiant Resources Inc. by Tiomin Resources Inc. in a share exchange transaction; a second step plan of arrangement for Kinross Gold Corporation in its acquisition of Underworld Resources Inc.; and for TELUS Corporation in an arrangement to collapse its dual share structure. Farris litigators including Scott Dawson and Teresa Tomchak have also obtained numerous court orders with respect to various types of internal corporate affairs.

More generally, Farris litigators, including Robert Anderson, Q.C., Teresa Tomchak, Ludmila Herbst, and Mike Wagner, have considerable experience in advising and representing clients in corporate reorganizations and in shareholders disputes, including oppression proceedings and derivative actions, including an oppression action challenging a $100 million transaction in Icahn Partners LP v. Lions Gate Entertainment Corp. 2010 BCSC 1547 and 2011 BCCA 228. Farris litigators have also acted for and against investors and brokerage firms with respect to investments, including disputes involving inter-jurisdictional issues.
 
Farris partner Robert Anderson, Q.C. has both appeared before and/or conducted judicial review proceedings of decisions from a wide spectrum of statutory decision makers including the British Columbia Securities Commission and discipline panels of the Vancouver Stock Exchange and Canadian Venture Exchange, as well as appearing before the Investment Industry Regulatory Organization of Canada (IIROC).

Farris partner Teresa Tomchak has extensive experience in the securities field, including regularly advising brokerage firms and she previously worked part-time at a brokerage firm in Vancouver. She has been involved in various regulatory matters in the securities industry including investigations and enforcement hearings before the British Columbia and Ontario Securities Commissions, the TSX and TSX-V and IIROC regarding a variety of issues including disclosure and compliance with National Instrument 43-101.

Our Lawyers

(Click to view full bio)

A. Keith Mitchell, Q.C. Partner kmitchell@farris.com 604 661 9337
Robert S. Anderson, Q.C. Partner randerson@farris.com 604 661 9372
B. R. (Brian) Canfield Partner bcanfield@farris.com 604 661 9362
Aaron P.G. Dow Partner adow@farris.com 250 869 3858
Ron Dueck Partner rdueck@farris.com 604 661 9395
Mitchell H. Gropper, Q.C. Partner mgropper@farris.com 604 661 9322
Elizabeth J. Harrison, Q.C. Partner eharrison@farris.com 604 661 9367
Ludmila B. Herbst, Q.C. Partner lherbst@farris.com 604 661 1722
Albert J. Hudec Partner ahudec@farris.com 604 661 9356
Ross Langford Partner rlangford@farris.com 250 869 3868
R. Hector MacKay-Dunn, Q.C. Partner hmackay-dunn@farris.com 604 661 9307
Peter C.T. MacPherson Partner pmacpherson@farris.com 250 869 3881
Jamie R. Matthews Partner jmatthews@farris.com 604 661 9365
Rebecca M. Morse Partner rmorse@farris.com 604 661 1712
Ronald G. Murray Partner rmurray@farris.com 604 661 9306
Denise C. Nawata Partner dnawata@farris.com 604 661 1746
Bradley A. Newby Partner bnewby@farris.com 604 661 9308
Dean A. O’Leary Partner doleary@farris.com 604 661 9316
Dominic A. Petraroia, Q.C. Managing Partner, Kelowna dpetraroia@farris.com 250 869 3851
Peter M. Roth Partner proth@farris.com 604 661 9382
Bo Rothstein Partner brothstein@farris.com 604 661 1747
David J. Selley Partner dselley@farris.com 604 661 1718
Jay Sujir Partner jsujir@farris.com 604 661 1704
Teresa M. Tomchak Partner ttomchak@farris.com 604 661 1711
Arik Broadbent Associate abroadbent@farris.com 604 661 1743
Ronald A. Chin Associate rchin@farris.com 604 661 9333
Sean Galloway Associate sgalloway@farris.com 604 661 9334
Roland T. Hurst Associate rhurst@farris.com 604 661 2172
Ryan McCracken Associate rmccracken@farris.com 604 661 2170
Allan M. McGavin Associate amcgavin@farris.com 604 661 1713
Melissa J. Mitchell Associate mmitchell@farris.com 604 661 9313
Michael Rawluk Associate mrawluk@farris.com 604 661 1708
Lyndsay Schooley Associate lschooley@farris.com 604 661 1717
Matthew Smith Associate msmith@farris.com 604 661 9303
Robert Veitch Associate rveitch@farris.com
Verlee Webb Associate vwebb@farris.com 604 661 1716