Our Expertise   ›   Practice Areas   ›   Real Estate

Farris LLP: Vancouver's Law Firm

Real Estate

Our firm acts for clients in all types of real estate transactions, ranging from first time condominium buyers to developers of major urban mixed use projects.

We have historically been involved in major real estate development in British Columbia. This has involved acting for our clients in all matters relating to such developments, such as tax structuring, acquisition of properties, density transfers, environmental matters, servicing agreements, rezoning, subdivision, financing, and leasing.

The following is a summary of the projects we have acted on over the last decade:

  • Acted as counsel to Ledcor Properties in its acquisition of a joint venture interest in Village Green Mall in Kelowna and condominium/apartment development projects in San Diego, California.
  • Acted as counsel to Brookfield Properties in its acquisition of Sevenoaks Shopping Centre and its sale of Westoaks Shopping Centre in Abbotsford.
  • Acted as counsel to Burrard International Holdings in its acquisition of Quail Ridge Golf Course.
  • Acted as counsel in real estate financings in such landmark projects as Eaton Centre Metrotown, Rogers Cantel Tower, Royal City Centre, and numerous others.
  • Acted as counsel in the refinancing of first mortgages on Mayfair Shopping Centre in Victoria and Guilford Shopping Centre in Surrey.
  • Acted as counsel to Blackcomb Mountain in respect of its development at Whistler during the seven years that our client, Aspen Skiing Corporation, held a 50% interest. This early development work involved extensive negotiations with several government ministries and created much of the framework for the resort as it exists today.
  • Acted as counsel to QLT Inc. in its disposition of two properties on Great Northern Way to Discovery Parks Holdings Inc.
  • Acted as counsel to Translink in numerous property acquisitions in and around the Lower Mainland, including the acquisition of property on Hudson Street (Vancouver Transit Centre) as well as acquisitions of properties from the Beedie Group and Bosa Development Corporation.
  • Acted on numerous other developments in and about the Lower Mainland, including: the BC Hydro head office building in Vancouver and its office complex in Burnaby; the BC Cellular building; City Square shopping centre in Vancouver; Capilano Mall in North Vancouver; Granville Island, undertaken by Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation; BC Place; and the Westminster Quay and Lonsdale Quay developments undertaken by Crown corporations on behalf of the Government of British Columbia.

The firm also has an active commercial leasing practice for major landlords and tenants in industrial, retail, and office facilities.

Our Lawyers

(Click to view full bio)

A. Keith Mitchell, Q.C. Chair kmitchell@farris.com 604 661 9337
Mitchell H. Gropper, Q.C. Partner mgropper@farris.com 604 661 9322
B. R. (Brian) Canfield Partner bcanfield@farris.com 604 661 9362
R. Christopher Holmes Senior Counsel cholmes@farris.com 604 661 9335
Ross Langford Partner rlangford@farris.com 250 869 3868
Gordon A. Love Partner glove@farris.com 604 661 9317
Hugh M. Matthews Senior Counsel hmatthews@farris.com 604 661 9305
Peter C.T. MacPherson Partner pmacpherson@farris.com 250 869 3881
Dominic A. Petraroia, Q.C. Managing Partner, Kelowna dpetraroia@farris.com 250 869 3851
Paul S. Richardson Partner prichardson@farris.com 604 661 9351
Nicole M. Cameron Associate ncameron@farris.com 604 661 9348
Aaron P.G. Dow Associate adow@farris.com 250 869 3858
Laura J. Myles Associate lmyles@farris.com 250 869 3874
Christine J. Oberti Associate coberti@farris.com 604 661 9380