Our Expertise   ›   Practice Areas   ›   Mergers and Acquisitions

Farris LLP: Vancouver's Law Firm

Mergers and Acquisitions

Farris has been the only law firm in Vancouver to hold the top ranking in Lexpert for corporate transactions.

Our lawyers practising in Mergers & Acquisitions have led some of the most complex and innovative domestic and cross-border transactions in British Columbia, representing clients across a broad range of industries including telecommunications, utilities, life sciences, technology, clean technology, mining, and energy. Our representative work includes:

  • Acted for Aspreva Pharmaceuticals Corporation with respect to the sale of Aspreva for US $915 million to the Galenica Group.
  • Acted for MacDonald, Dettwiler and Associates Ltd. with respect to the proposed sale of its space business to ATK for $1.35 billion.
  • Acted for Club Penguin with respect to the $700 million sale of Club Penguin to the Walt Disney Company.
  • Acted for AnorMED in the US $585 million contested cross-border acquisition of AnorMED by Genzyme Corporation, the first ever hostile contested bid for a life sciences company.
  • Acted for BC Gas Inc. in connection with its acquisition of the public minority shareholdings in Trans Mountain Pipe Line Company Ltd.
  • Acted for Rea Gold Corporation in connection with its three cornered cross-border "Delaware merger" with American Resource Corporation, Inc.
  • Acted in the $1.4 billion acquisition of Weyerhaeuser’s coastal assets by Brookfield Asset Management.
  • Acted in the $212 million acquisition of AirSource Power Fund by Algonquin Power Income Fund.
  • Acted as counsel to White Knight Resources Ltd. in connection with the $100 million unsolicited cross-border takeover bid of White Knight Resources Ltd. by US Gold Corporation.
  • Acted as counsel to TELUS in connection with its $6.6 billion acquisition of Ontario-based Clearnet Communications Inc.
  • Acted as counsel to BC TELECOM Inc. in its $10 billion pooling of interest merger with TELUS Corporation.
  • Acted as counsel to Broadcom Corp. of Irvine, California in its $425 million pooling of interest acquisition of HotHaus Technologies.
  • Acted as counsel for Inland Natural Gas in its acquisition of the Mainland Gas Division of BC Hydro, one of the largest privatization transactions in Canada.
  • Acted as counsel for MacDonald Dettwiler in connection with its cross-border pooling of interest merger transaction with Orbital Sciences Corporation, and Patterson Dental Corporation in connection with the cross-border pooling of interest merger transaction with Canadian Dental Corporation.
  • Acted as counsel for the special committee of the Board of Directors of Burcon Properties in connection with the acquisition of the "Expo Lands" from Concord Pacific. In addition, we acted for the special committee in connection with the merger of Burcon with Oxford Properties.

Our Lawyers

(Click to view full bio)

Elizabeth J. Harrison, Q.C. Partner eharrison@farris.com 604 661 9367
Mitchell H. Gropper, Q.C. Partner mgropper@farris.com 604 661 9322
R. Hector MacKay-Dunn, Q.C. Partner hmackay-dunn@farris.com 604 661 9307
B. R. (Brian) Canfield Partner bcanfield@farris.com 604 661 9362
Ron Dueck Partner rdueck@farris.com 604 661 9395
Albert J. Hudec Partner ahudec@farris.com 604 661 9356
Ross Langford Partner rlangford@farris.com 250 869 3868
Peter C.T. MacPherson Partner pmacpherson@farris.com 250 869 3881
Jamie R. Matthews Partner jmatthews@farris.com 604 661 9365
Maria K. McKenzie Partner mmckenzie@farris.com 604 661 9319
Ronald G. Murray Partner rmurray@farris.com 604 661 9306
Denise C. Nawata Partner dnawata@farris.com 604 661 1746
Bradley A. Newby Partner bnewby@farris.com 604 661 9308
Duncan J. Reid Partner dreid@farris.com 604 661 1736
Peter M. Roth Partner proth@farris.com 604 661 9382
Bo Rothstein Partner brothstein@farris.com 604 661 1747
David J. Selley Partner dselley@farris.com 604 661 1718
Ryan McCracken Associate rmccracken@farris.com 604 661 2170
Melissa J. Mitchell Associate mmitchell@farris.com 604 661 9313
Michael Rawluk Associate mrawluk@farris.com 604 661 1708