Our Expertise   ›   Practice Areas   ›   Advocacy and Litigation   ›   Expropriation Law

Farris LLP: Vancouver's Law Firm

Expropriation Law

Farris lawyers have considerable expertise in the area of expropriation law.

We act primarily on behalf of expropriating authorities, advising generally with respect to issues concerning the nature and scope of statutory powers of expropriation, requirements for lawful expropriation, and compensation. We have conducted numerous expropriations, from initial acquisition procedures through to the final determination of compensation at hearings.

We have acted on behalf of British Columbia Hydro and Power Authority, FortisBC Inc., City of Vancouver, Metro Vancouver (Greater Vancouver Regional District, Greater Vancouver Water District, and Greater Vancouver Sewerage and Drainage District) on expropriations in connection with a wide variety of infrastructure and public works projects. We have also represented numerous landowners whose interests have been expropriated.

In these capacities we have appeared in the British Columbia Supreme Court, the British Columbia Court of Appeal, and before the Expropriation Compensation Board (prior to its dissolution). Please also see Municipal Law.

Our Lawyers

(Click to view full bio)

Scott A. Dawson Partner sdawson@farris.com 604 661 9354
Tim A. Dickson Partner tdickson@farris.com 604 661 9341
Michael Gianacopoulos Partner mgianacopoulos@farris.com 604 661 1705
Sean Hern Partner shern@farris.com 250 405 1982
R. Christopher Holmes Senior Counsel cholmes@farris.com 604 661 9335
Ross Langford Partner rlangford@farris.com 250 869 3868
Gordon A. Love Partner glove@farris.com 604 661 9317
Hugh M. Matthews Senior Counsel hmatthews@farris.com 604 661 9305
Robert J. McDonell Partner rmcdonell@farris.com 604 661 9371
Maria K. McKenzie Partner mmckenzie@farris.com 604 661 9319
Dean A. O’Leary Partner doleary@farris.com 604 661 9316
Mike Wagner Partner mwagner@farris.com 604 661 9388
Ronald A. Chin Associate rchin@farris.com 604 661 9333