Our Expertise   ›   Practice Areas   ›   Advocacy and Litigation   ›   Class Action Litigation

Farris LLP: Vancouver's Law Firm

Class Action Litigation

Farris lawyers are at the forefront of class action litigation. 

We have acted for a variety of entities facing applications to certify class proceedings or actions which have been certified, and have provided advice on steps to limit or minimize exposure to such proceedings. Our clients have included the telecommunications industry, automobile and medical implant manufacturers, payroll loan providers, and government.

We are at the leading edge of developing issues in the class action field, and have special expertise involving the intersection between class actions and arbitration. We also have substantial experience in identifying and addressing jurisdictional issues which arise in the context of class proceedings. In addition, our lawyers have extensive experience in the context of product liability cases, both as class proceedings and more generally.

Our representative work includes:

  • Round v. MacDonald Dettwiler and Associates Ltd., 2012 BCCA 456
  • Seidel v. TELUS Communications Inc. 2011 SCC 15
  • Obtaining a stay of a proposed class proceeding in favour of arbitration in Seidel v. TELUS Communications Inc., 2009 BCCA 104.
  • Obtaining dismissal of a motion for certification of a class proceeding in Lam v. University of British Columbia, 2009 BCSC 196.
  • Representing the Attorney General of Canada in relation to class action counsel fees in residential schools proceedings in Fontaine v. Canada (Attorney General), 2008 SKQB 271.
  • Obtaining dismissal of a motion for certification of a class proceeding in Scarlett v. FortisBC Inc., 2007 BCSC 43.
  • Obtaining dismissal of a motion for certification of a class proceeding in MacLean v. Telus Corporation, 2006 BCSC 766.
  • Maclean v. Telus Corp., 2005 BCCA 338.
  • Bodnar v. The Cash Store Inc. (various).

Our Lawyers

(Click to view full bio)

Robert S. Anderson, Q.C. Partner randerson@farris.com 604 661 9372
Robert B. Kennedy, Q.C. Partner rkennedy@farris.com 604 661 9389
Scott A. Dawson Partner sdawson@farris.com 604 661 9354
Tim A. Dickson Partner tdickson@farris.com 604 661 9341
Michael Gianacopoulos Partner mgianacopoulos@farris.com 604 661 1705
Ludmila B. Herbst Partner lherbst@farris.com 604 661 1722
Sean Hern Partner shern@farris.com 250 405 1982
Mike Wagner Partner mwagner@farris.com 604 661 9388