Our Expertise   ›   Practice Areas   ›   Advocacy and Litigation

Farris LLP: Vancouver's Law Firm

Advocacy and Litigation

Farris provides timely, creative, and practical representation in a full range of commercial, corporate, and constitutional litigation.

Rigorous, innovative, resolute. Farris’ litigation group combines tremendous skill and depth of talent with an uncompromising commitment to our clients’ interests. We advocate for our clients in every forum and have expertise in all aspects of private and public law. We are engaged in many of the most important corporate, commercial, securities, governmental, media, major injury, class action and constitutional cases in the province at any given time. Our litigators are recognized as leaders in their field. Our clients are diverse and include major business organizations, public bodies, universities, First Nations, media organizations, family litigants, and public interest groups. Their common interest is in seeking the best representation possible.

Some examples of recent cases involving Farris litigators include the:

  • corporate governance litigation between TELUS and Mason Capital Ltd.
  • constitutional challenge of the assisted dying prohibition
  • challenge of the bylaws of the College of Pharmacists
  • SCC’s consideration of First Nations’ title in the claim brought by the Tsilhqot’in Nation
  • CCAA restructuring of League Assets
  • SCC’s consideration of the relationship between hyperlinking and defamation
  • Missing Women Commission of Inquiry
  • Canada Line litigation including the class action by the Cambie Street merchants
  • constitutional challenge of the prostitution offences in the Criminal Code
  • challenge before the BC Securities Commission of the Lions Gate poison pill
  • publication ban challenges in the Surrey Six and Pickton trials
  • dismissal of securities class action against MacDonald Detwiller
  • Cohen Commission of Inquiry into Fraser River Sockeye Salmon
  • divorce proceedings involving the Aquilini family
  • SCC’s consideration of arbitration clauses in the context of class proceedings
  • challenge brought against the trust assets of the Anglican Diocese
  • proceedings over the Los Azules copper deposit in the Andes
  • reference regarding the constitutionality of the polygamy laws

Working with our team of partners, senior and associate counsel in Farris’ litigation group is a select group of highly skilled associates and some of the top students from law schools across the country.

Our Lawyers

(Click to view full bio)

A. Keith Mitchell, Q.C. Chair kmitchell@farris.com 604 661 9337
Robert B. Kennedy, Q.C. Partner rkennedy@farris.com 604 661 9389
Alan J. Hamilton, Q.C. Managing Partner ahamilton@farris.com 604 661 9320
Robert S. Anderson, Q.C. Partner randerson@farris.com 604 661 9372
Jeffrey J. Kay, Q.C. Partner jkay@farris.com 604 661 9321
Joseph J. Arvay, Q.C. Partner jarvay@farris.com 604 661 9338
Kenneth J. Smith* Senior Counsel ksmith@farris.com 604 661 9357
Robert P. Sloman Partner rsloman@farris.com 604 661 9375
Robert J. McDonell Partner rmcdonell@farris.com 604 661 9371
Donald L. Richards Partner drichards@farris.com 604 661 9318
Marylee A. Davies Partner mdavies@farris.com 604 661 1707
Michael Gianacopoulos Partner mgianacopoulos@farris.com 604 661 1705
Karen Shirley-Paterson Partner kspaterson@farris.com 604 661 9385
Scott A. Dawson Partner sdawson@farris.com 604 661 9354
Ludmila B. Herbst Partner lherbst@farris.com 604 661 1722
David E. Gruber Partner dgruber@farris.com 604 661 9361
Sean Hern Partner shern@farris.com 250 405 1982
Christopher J. Wiebe Partner cwiebe@farris.com 250 869 3879
Teresa M. Tomchak Partner ttomchak@farris.com 604 661 1711
Dylana R. Bloor Partner dbloor@farris.com
Rebecca M. Morse Partner rmorse@farris.com 604 661 1712
Mike Wagner Partner mwagner@farris.com 604 661 9388
Tim A. Dickson Partner tdickson@farris.com 604 661 9341
Catherine Boies Parker Associate Counsel cboiesparker@farris.com 250 405 1986
Jennifer A. Cowan Associate jcowan@farris.com 604 661 1727
Alexander D. Mitchell Associate amitchell@farris.com 604 661 9397
Susan B. Mossing Associate smossing@farris.com 604 661 9336
Jasmine L. MacAdam Associate jmacadam@farris.com 250 405 1985
Nicholas T. Hooge Associate nhooge@farris.com 604 661 9391
Timothy Louman-Gardiner Associate tlouman-gardiner@farris.com 604 661 1729
Matthew Pierce Associate mpierce@farris.com 604 661 9368
Alison M. Latimer Associate alatimer@farris.com 604 661 9345
Jason K. Yamashita Associate jyamashita@farris.com 604 661 9347
Celeste M. Chamberlain Associate cchamberlain@farris.com 604 661 9315
Christopher D. Filipchuk Associate cfilipchuk@farris.com 250 869 3880
Ted Murray Associate tmurray@farris.com 604 661 9369
Nav Baidwan Associate nbaidwan@farris.com 604 661 9339
Ryan J. Androsoff Associate randrosoff@farris.com 604 661 9323
Michelle A. Rosser Associate mrosser@farris.com 250 869 3878