Our Expertise   ›   Practice Areas   ›   Labour & Employment   ›   Labour Law

Farris LLP: Vancouver's Law Firm

Labour Law

Farris is a recognized leader in the practice of Labour & Employment law.

Farris has a full service Labour & Employment group that is actively engaged in all areas of the law that impact upon the labour and employment relationship in both the provincial and federal sectors.

We regularly act for a number of unionized clients with respect to grievance arbitration and collective agreement administration. Our lawyers conduct Labour Board hearings including applications for certification and decertification, unfair labour practices, variance, common employer, and successorship issues. We are experienced in assisting clients with strikes and lockouts and the legal issues that can arise including picketing, ally, and replacement workers. We have particular expertise and specialized knowledge in assisting clients regulated by the federal Canada Labour Code obtain injunctive relief from illegal picketing in Supreme Court; our lawyers were counsel on a number of leading cases in this area of labour relations law.

Our lawyers have experience appearing before a number of administrative tribunals that apply employment-related statutes including the Human Rights Tribunal, the Employment Standards Tribunal, Workers’ Compensation Appeal Tribunal, and the Office of the Information and Privacy Commissioner.  We regularly provide advice to our clients with respect to all of these areas of law.

The Labour and Employment group publishes a quarterly newsletter and our lawyers conduct seminars for our clients throughout British Columbia.

Our Lawyers

(Click to view full bio)

A. Keith Mitchell, Q.C. Partner kmitchell@farris.com 604 661 9337
Alan J. Hamilton, Q.C. Partner ahamilton@farris.com 604 661 9320
Dylana R. Bloor Partner dbloor@farris.com 250 869 3870
Marylee A. Davies Partner mdavies@farris.com 604 661 1707
Michael H. Korbin Partner mkorbin@farris.com 604 661 9330
Alexander D. Mitchell Partner amitchell@farris.com 604 661 9397
Alison H. Narod Partner anarod@farris.com 604 661 1702
Donald L. Richards Partner drichards@farris.com 604 661 9318
Mike Wagner Partner mwagner@farris.com 604 661 9388
Christopher J. Wiebe Partner cwiebe@farris.com 250 869 3879
Peter F. Parsons Senior Counsel pparsons@farris.com 604 661 9314