Our Expertise   ›   Practice Areas   ›   Labour & Employment

Farris LLP: Vancouver's Law Firm

Labour & Employment

Farris is a recognized leader in the practice of Labour & Employment law.

Farris has a full service Labour & Employment group that is actively engaged in all areas of the law that impact upon the employment relationship in both the provincial and federal sectors.

We regularly act for a number of unionized clients with respect to grievance arbitration and collective agreement administration. Our lawyers conduct Labour Board hearings including applications for certification and decertification, unfair labour practices, variance, common employer, and successorship issues. We are experienced in assisting clients with strikes and lockouts and the legal issues that can arise including picketing, ally, and replacement workers. We have particular expertise and specialized knowledge in assisting clients regulated by the federal Canada Labour Code obtain injunctive relief from illegal picketing in Supreme Court; our lawyers have been counsel on a number of leading cases in this area.

We regularly advise non-unionized clients on employment law issues and work closely with our clients’ human resources personnel to ensure our clients’ legal interests are protected. We give advice on a wide range of issues including employment contracts, severance, workplace policies/employment manuals, sickness and disability, and pensions. We also work with our clients in connection with corporate transactions to ensure employment issues are identified and addressed.

Our lawyers have experience appearing before a number of administrative tribunals that apply employment-related statutes including the Human Rights Tribunal, the Employment Standards Tribunal, Workers’ Compensation Appeal Tribunal, and the Office of the Information and Privacy Commissioner.  We regularly provide advice to our clients with respect to all of these areas of law.

The Labour and Employment Group publishes a quarterly newsletter and our lawyers conduct seminars for our clients around British Columbia.

Our Lawyers

(Click to view full bio)

A. Keith Mitchell, Q.C. Chair kmitchell@farris.com 604 661 9337
Alan J. Hamilton, Q.C. Managing Partner ahamilton@farris.com 604 661 9320
Marylee A. Davies Partner mdavies@farris.com 604 661 1707
Scott A. Dawson Partner sdawson@farris.com 604 661 9354
Michael H. Korbin Partner mkorbin@farris.com 604 661 9330
Alison H. Narod Partner anarod@farris.com 604 661 1702
Ryan S. Neely Associate Counsel rneely@farris.com
Peter F. Parsons Senior Counsel pparsons@farris.com 604 661 9314
Donald L. Richards Partner drichards@farris.com 604 661 9318
Mike Wagner Partner mwagner@farris.com 604 661 9388
Christopher J. Wiebe Partner cwiebe@farris.com 250 869 3879
Ryan J. Androsoff Associate randrosoff@farris.com 604 661 9323
Nav Baidwan Associate nbaidwan@farris.com 604 661 9339
Celeste M. Chamberlain Associate cchamberlain@farris.com 604 661 9315
Jennifer A. Cowan Associate jcowan@farris.com 604 661 1727
Alexander D. Mitchell Associate amitchell@farris.com 604 661 9397
F. Scott Murray Associate smurray@farris.com 604 661 9399
Michelle A. Rosser Associate mrosser@farris.com 250 869 3878