Our Expertise   ›   Practice Areas   ›   Corporate & Commercial   ›   Commercial Litigation

Farris LLP: Vancouver's Law Firm

Commercial Litigation

Farris provides timely, creative, and practical representation in a full range of commercial, corporate, and constitutional litigation.

Advocacy in business disputes has been a core component of Farris’ litigation practice throughout its 100 year history.  We have acted for many of the largest companies in the province.  We solve problems, manage critical events, build leverage and do what needs to be done.  Our expertise covers all manner of business issues including: contractual rights, business opportunities, securities, tax, corporate governance, banking, insolvency, negligence, insurance coverage, foreign corrupt practices and fraud.  As needed, our litigators draw upon the wealth of business expertise in the ranks of our solicitors.

Farris litigators have authored articles, papers, and texts in the field of commercial litigation and arbitration, and they have taught a variety of commercial-oriented courses.  Ludmila Herbst is a co-author of Commercial Arbitration in Canada, looseleaf (Aurora, Ont.: Canada Law Book), with yearly updates. Ms. Herbst and Teresa Tomchak are contributors to British Columbia Business Disputes, first published in 2011.

Representative cases include:

  • 2013 - League Assets Corp (CCAA/Restructuring)
  • 2013 - Douglas Channel LNG Partnership v. DECP Gas Management Ltd. (CCAA/Receivership)
  • Telus v. CDS and Mason Capital 2012 BCSC 1350, 2012 BCCA 403, 2012 BCSC 1539, 2012 BCSC 1540,  2012 BCSC 1582
  • Round v. MacDonald, Detwiller and Associates Ltd. 2012 BCCA 456 – first class action in Canada to deny leave under the secondary market provisions of the Securities Act.
  • Northern Minerals Investment Corp. v. Mundoro Capital Inc. 2012 BCSC 1090 - the first court decision regarding the validity of an advance notice policy instituted during a proxy fight
  • 2012 - Lemare Holdings Ltd. (CCAA/Restructuring)
  • Icahn Partners LP v. Lions Gate Entertainment Corp. 2010 BCSC 1547 and 2011 BCCA 228. -  oppression action during a proxy fight
  • 2011 - Noh v. Plaza 88 Developments (Commercial/Contractual dispute)
  • 2011 - Angiotech Pharmaceuticals (CCAA/Restructuring)
  • Strother v. 3464920 Canada Inc., [2007] 2 S.C.R. 177, 2007 SCC 24 (defence of claim for breach of fiduciary duty and negligence against a solicitor)
  • Canadian Pacific Railway v. Vancouver (City), [2006] 1 S.C.R. 227, 2006 SCC 5 (litigation related to an official development plan)
  • Aurizon Mines Ltd. v. Northgate Minerals Corp. (2006), 57 B.C.L.R. (4th) 137, 2006 BCSC 1022, affirmed (2006), 55 B.C.L.R. (4th) 203, 2006 BCCA 340 (injunction against an attempted takeover bid)

Our Lawyers

(Click to view full bio)

Alan J. Hamilton, Q.C. Managing Partner ahamilton@farris.com 604 661 9320
Robert S. Anderson, Q.C. Partner randerson@farris.com 604 661 9372
Dylana R. Bloor Partner dbloor@farris.com
Marylee A. Davies Partner mdavies@farris.com 604 661 1707
Scott A. Dawson Partner sdawson@farris.com 604 661 9354
Tim A. Dickson Partner tdickson@farris.com 604 661 9341
Michael Gianacopoulos Partner mgianacopoulos@farris.com 604 661 1705
Ludmila B. Herbst Partner lherbst@farris.com 604 661 1722
Sean Hern Partner shern@farris.com 250 405 1982
Jeffrey J. Kay, Q.C. Partner jkay@farris.com 604 661 9321
Robert J. McDonell Partner rmcdonell@farris.com 604 661 9371
Rebecca M. Morse Partner rmorse@farris.com 604 661 1712
Donald L. Richards Partner drichards@farris.com 604 661 9318
Robert P. Sloman Partner rsloman@farris.com 604 661 9375
Teresa M. Tomchak Partner ttomchak@farris.com 604 661 1711
Mike Wagner Partner mwagner@farris.com 604 661 9388
Christopher J. Wiebe Partner cwiebe@farris.com 250 869 3879
Nikki L. Charlton Associate ncharlton@farris.com 604 661 9396
Jennifer A. Cowan Associate jcowan@farris.com 604 661 1727
Christopher D. Filipchuk Associate cfilipchuk@farris.com 250 869 3880
Jasmine L. MacAdam Associate jmacadam@farris.com 250 405 1985
Alexander D. Mitchell Associate amitchell@farris.com 604 661 9397
Susan B. Mossing Associate smossing@farris.com 604 661 9336
Michelle A. Rosser Associate mrosser@farris.com 250 869 3878