Our Expertise   ›   Industries   ›   Technology

Farris LLP: Vancouver's Law Firm

Technology

Our Technology Law and Information Technology Law group has extensive experience in representing science and technology based businesses in transactional work as well as in day-to-day operations.

Farris assists clients in the structuring, drafting, negotiation, and due diligence for a broad spectrum of complex technology-related transactions, including those involving technology transfers and licensing, acquisitions and sales, collaborations, strategic alliances and joint ventures, financings, outsourcing, research and development, original equipment manufacturing agreements, marketing, distribution and value-added reseller agreements, and procurement and project implementation.

We also assist in the preparation of agreements required for day-to-day operations, including confidentiality agreements, assignments of inventions, services agreements, consulting agreements, end user licence agreements, evaluation agreements, hosting agreements, and maintenance and support agreements.

Our clients include hardware and software products developers, manufacturers and distributors and Internet and e-commerce service providers, ranging from early stage companies developing innovative technologies and companies that outsource their technology for use by others, to well-established companies that market and distribute their products and services throughout the world. We also act for large public and private entities seeking to procure technology for use by their organizations.

One of the strengths of the group’s practice is the diversity of the experience it brings to organizing and financing a wide range of science and knowledge-based businesses as they develop, and in protecting their intellectual property.

Many of our technology lawyers have been recognized as leaders in their field. A number are ranked among the Leading 500 Lawyers in Canada, as well as the Top 100 Cross-Border Lawyers, according to Lexpert, the most respected legal publication in Canada.

Noted below are some examples of our recent involvement in matters with a significant science-based or information technology law component:

  • Act for Day4 Energy Inc., a leader in proprietary photovoltaic (PV) technology solutions, including in the recent negotiation and drafting of an outsourcing agreement for the manufacture and supply of solar modules for the European market by Jabil Circuit Inc. (December 2008).
  • Acted for MacDonald Dettwiler and Associates Ltd. with respect to the proposed sale of its space business to Alliant Techsystems for $1.35 billion (January 2008).
  • Acted for MacDonald Dettwiler and Associates Ltd. with respect to its acquisition of Alliance Spacesystems, LLC (December 2007).
  • Acted for TIR Systems Ltd. in its $75 million acquisition by Royal Philips Electronics by way of Plan of Arrangement (May 2007).
  • Acted for Blast Radius Inc. in the sale of its XMetal Software Products division to Justsystem Corporation, a large software developer and vendor from Japan (March 2006).
  • Acted for Ikona Gear International Inc. in the licensing of its revolutionary gear technology to Magna Drivetrain AG & Co. KG (Austria), a division of Magna International, Inc. (December 2005).
  • Acted for and assisted in the organization of numerous successful high technology start-up companies.
  • Act for ExRo Technologies Inc., a clean energy company that has invented, designed, and prototyped the world’s first Variable Input Electric Generator (VIEG).
  • Act for Digital Payment Technologies, a leader in the design, manufacture, and distribution of multi-space pay station hardware, software, and online management solutions.
  • Assisted many clients in the acquisition of major hardware and software systems, some of which have a significant software development component.
  • Acted for TransLink in the procurement of hardware and software for its bus communications system, bus cameras system, SkyTrain automated train control system, and switch control system.

Farris, through Lex Mundi (a global association of over 160 independent law firms) and the Licensing Executives Society, has alliances with leading technology firms around the world. As much of our licensing and joint venture activity involves parties from other countries, this network of contacts has proved to be of enormous value to our clients.

The lawyers practising in the Technology group are the authors of numerous articles and practice materials regarding science and knowledge-based businesses and intellectual property matters, and have made many presentations to educational institutions and industry organizations throughout British Columbia.

Our Lawyers

(Click to view full bio)

Elizabeth J. Harrison, Q.C. Partner eharrison@farris.com 604 661 9367
R. Hector MacKay-Dunn, Q.C. Partner hmackay-dunn@farris.com 604 661 9307
Mitchell H. Gropper, Q.C. Partner mgropper@farris.com 604 661 9322
James P. Hatton, Q.C. Partner jhatton@farris.com 604 661 9324
Marylee A. Davies Partner mdavies@farris.com 604 661 1707
Ludmila B. Herbst, Q.C. Partner lherbst@farris.com 604 661 1722
Albert J. Hudec Partner ahudec@farris.com 604 661 9356
Ross Langford Partner rlangford@farris.com 250 869 3868
Peter C.T. MacPherson Partner pmacpherson@farris.com 250 869 3881
Ronald G. Murray Partner rmurray@farris.com 604 661 9306
Ryan S. Neely Associate Counsel rneely@farris.com
Bradley A. Newby Partner bnewby@farris.com 604 661 9308
Dominic A. Petraroia, Q.C. Managing Partner, Kelowna dpetraroia@farris.com 250 869 3851
Peter M. Roth Partner proth@farris.com 604 661 9382
David J. Selley Partner dselley@farris.com 604 661 1718
Mike Wagner Partner mwagner@farris.com 604 661 9388
Jenifer A. Chilcott Counsel jchilcott@farris.com 250 405 1987
Ronald A. Chin Associate rchin@farris.com 604 661 9333
Ron Dueck Partner rdueck@farris.com 604 661 9395