Our Expertise   ›   Industries   ›   Mining

Farris LLP: Vancouver's Law Firm

Mining

Farris lawyers have extensive experience representing junior and senior companies in the Mining sector.

The Toronto Stock Exchange and the TSX Venture Exchange are the leading stock markets in the world for mining companies, with 90% of all global equity financings being undertaken on one of those exchanges in 2011. Many significant mining companies are incorporated or headquartered in British Columbia and, as such, are regulated by the British Columbia Securities Commission, with whom Farris lawyers regularly interact.  We are well attuned to the current issues facing the mining industry.

We regularly advise on public and private debt and equity financings, mergers and acquisitions, reorganizations, mining asset sales, joint venture and partnership agreements, project and structured financings, securities law and stock exchange compliance, disclosure requirements including National Instrument 43-101, corporate governance, shareholder matters, proxy battles, environmental matters and general litigation.  In addition, we also do British Columbia mineral tenure and title work. We advise mining companies as well as other participants in the mining industry.

We currently act for several mining companies, including the following:

We act for Copper Mountain Mining Corporation with respect to all of its legal matters.  In 2011 Copper Mountain opened the first mine in British Columbia in over a decade.  Our work with Copper Mountain has included:

  • negotiating and formalizing its strategic alliance with Mitsubishi Materials Corporation,
  • a series of public financings,
  • a $162 million senior credit facility and
  • a $160 million subordinated loan facility.

We act for Copper Fox Metals Inc. with respect to all of its legal matters.  Copper Fox is developing the Schaft Creek Mineral Deposit located in NW British Columbia, one of the largest undeveloped copper porphyry polymetalic deposits in North America.  Our work with Copper Fox has included:

  • multiple financings in excess of $20 million in 2011, and
  • acquisitions of mineral tenures adjacent to the Schaft Creek Mineral Deposit.

We act for PolyMet Mining Corporation in connection with all of its Canadian legal matters, which have included a strategic marketing agreement with Glencore AG, as well as several debt and equity offerings involving Glencore AG aimed at financing the development of its copper/nickel/precious-metals project in Minnesota.

In addition we have acted on the following matters:

  • Acted for Potash One Inc. in connection with a $434 million negotiated cross-border cash take-over bid made by K+S Aktiengesellshaft for the Legacy Project, a US$2.5 billion project to develop the first new potash mine in Saskatchewan in 40 years.
  • Acted for TNR Gold Corp. and its subsidiary, Solitario Argentina S.A., in litigation against MIM Argentina Exploraciones S.A., a subsidiary of the Xstrata Group in connection with back-in rights in a letter of understanding.
  • Acted for Kinross Gold Corporation in its second step plan of arrangement of Underworld Resources Inc.
  • Acted in the acquisition of Ashton Mining of Canada by Stornoway Diamond Corporation.
  • Acted in the $37.5 million bridge financing to Pine Valley Mining Inc. by Brookfield Bridge Lending Fund Inc.
  • Acted as counsel to White Knight Resources Ltd. in connection with the $100 million unsolicited cross-border takeover bid of White Knight Resources Ltd. by US Gold Corporation.
  • Acted as counsel to Idemitsu Uranium Exploration with respect to structuring and negotiating the joint venture governing the Cigar Lake project in Northern Saskatchewan, now the world’s second largest high grade uranium deposit.
  • Acted as counsel to the Board of Directors of Goldcorp Inc. in transaction with Barrick Inc. and Placer Dome Inc.
  • Acted as counsel to the special committee of the Board of Wheaton River Minerals Ltd. in connection with successfully defending the hostile bid by Coeur d’Alene Mines Ltd. and, subsequently, the successful merger with Goldcorp Inc.
  • Acted in the acquisition by Pan Pacific Copper Corp. of Regalito Copper Corp. by way of takeover bid.

Our Lawyers

(Click to view full bio)

B. R. (Brian) Canfield Partner bcanfield@farris.com 604 661 9362
Ron Dueck Partner rdueck@farris.com 604 661 9395
Elizabeth J. Harrison, Q.C. Partner eharrison@farris.com 604 661 9367
Albert J. Hudec Partner ahudec@farris.com 604 661 9356
R. Hector MacKay-Dunn, Q.C. Partner hmackay-dunn@farris.com 604 661 9307
Ronald G. Murray Partner rmurray@farris.com 604 661 9306
Denise C. Nawata Partner dnawata@farris.com 604 661 1746
Peter M. Roth Partner proth@farris.com 604 661 9382
Bo Rothstein Partner brothstein@farris.com 604 661 1747
David J. Selley Partner dselley@farris.com 604 661 1718
Trevor R. Scott Partner tscott@farris.com 604 661 1732
Jay Sujir Partner jsujir@farris.com 604 661 1704
Teresa M. Tomchak Partner ttomchak@farris.com 604 661 1711
Mike Wagner Partner mwagner@farris.com 604 661 9388
Roland T. Hurst Associate rhurst@farris.com 604 661 2172
Jamie R. Matthews Partner jmatthews@farris.com 604 661 9365
Lyndsay Schooley Associate lschooley@farris.com 604 661 1717
Verlee Webb Associate vwebb@farris.com 604 661 1716