Our Expertise   ›   Industries   ›   Energy

Farris LLP: Vancouver's Law Firm

Energy

Our integrated team of Energy Law practitioners acts as key strategic counsel to producers, operators, marketers, service companies, and investor groups.

In addition to advising clients on commercial transactions related to the oil and gas industry, our lawyers’ expertise includes flow-through and project financings and income trust conversions of oil and gas businesses. We have experience negotiating joint venture arrangements, advising in resource development agreements for Aboriginal reserve and treaty lands, and settling export disputes.

Our significant transactions and clientele include:

  • Counsel to Terasen Gas Inc.
  • Counsel to Oslo Oil Sands Project, in connection with structuring and liability issues under the project’s joint venture operating agreement.
  • Counsel to parties in the Syncrude Oil Sands Project.
  • Counsel to Francana Oil and Gas.
  • Counsel to Pacific Northern Gas Ltd. in connection with the secondary public offering of common shares by its principal shareholder.
  • Counsel to the pipeline companies in the financial restructuring of the Vancouver Island natural gas pipeline.
  • Acquisition of the Mainland Gas Division of BC Hydro by Inland Natural Gas (BC Gas), one of the largest privatization transactions in Canada.

Our Lawyers

(Click to view full bio)

Elizabeth J. Harrison, Q.C. Partner eharrison@farris.com 604 661 9367
R. Hector MacKay-Dunn, Q.C. Partner hmackay-dunn@farris.com 604 661 9307
Mitchell H. Gropper, Q.C. Partner mgropper@farris.com 604 661 9322
Marylee A. Davies Partner mdavies@farris.com 604 661 1707
David E. Gruber Partner dgruber@farris.com 604 661 9361
Ludmila B. Herbst, Q.C. Partner lherbst@farris.com 604 661 1722
Albert J. Hudec Partner ahudec@farris.com 604 661 9356
Denise C. Nawata Partner dnawata@farris.com 604 661 1746
Dean A. O’Leary Partner doleary@farris.com 604 661 9316
Hugh M. Matthews Senior Counsel hmatthews@farris.com 604 661 9305
David J. Selley Partner dselley@farris.com 604 661 1718
Ron Dueck Partner rdueck@farris.com 604 661 9395
Jamie R. Matthews Partner jmatthews@farris.com 604 661 9365